Christmas Thoughts

Merry Christmas!

How are you spending your holidays?

I am going to my Uncle’s house this afternoon and spending time with relatives I only see a few times a year. It is such a warm feeling to be reunited with family and friends that I haven’t seen for a while.

One my goals for this break (I don’t have to work for a full 10 days – Woohoo), is to put away my phone. When you walk down the street, drive in your car, or even look around your family room, how many people are playing with their phones? I think I’ve developed a phone addiction this year! My neck sometimes hurts and my eyes become very dry staring at the screen. Does anyone else feel this way?

During the holidays, challenge yourself and see if you can put down your phone. Send your christmas texts, and update your social media statuses now, then put your phone away for 12 hours. Yes- 12 hours. Your text responses can wait until tomorrow.

Give it a try. See how your mood can instantly change, and how you can spend time living IN THE PRESENT. Do you feel a little bit happier? Do you feel the urge to be active and do something different? Or do just really miss your phone? It can be a bit impulsive to pull out the phone and take pictures with family or of the new gift you just got but try to resist the urge. Maybe a little technology detox can be good for all of us.

If you don’t want to start today, give it a try before the new year and let me know your results! Happy Holidays!

Hungry for more,

The Midwest Marmot

Leave a Reply

