A New Year

Happy New Year! How did you celebrate the new year?

I know it is time to make your resolutions and kick the old bad habits you made in 2014. Usually I spend each January 1st making a list of new habits I want to form. 1) Appreciate the things you have 2) Exercise everyday 3) Stop eating french fries

The list really goes on and on. There are so many goals, and sometimes they are so vague. How do you stick to these resolutions?

I am taking a new approach this year to find inspiration in one quote or one phrase that will form better habits to make 2015 a year that is productive and life enriching.

The quote I found is by Mark Twain.

“The two most important days in your life are the day you are born and the day you find out why.”

Here is what speaks to me about this quote:

1) It’s stating that you should be thankful for what you have – A life to live. Do the things that matter to you that bring you joy and happiness. Do something for yourself.

2) The day you find out what your purpose is. This is such a deep and thoughtful statement. Sometimes I think about what my purpose is here, not in a cryptic way, but in a big picture way. What am I going to contribute to society, my family, my community? I don’t think you have one purpose. You can serve multiple purposes through different periods in your life, but what you contribute to those around you, during those different periods has a ripple effect. If you can figure out what your purpose is at a point in time, you could use that skill set to effect and help, or change others.

This quote really inspires me to figure out what my purpose is and to be grateful for what I have at the moment. My focus for 2015 is to seek purpose in my every day. You can go through the motions of your daily routine; in comfort, watching tv, reading the paper, eating the same food, seeing the same people, or you can change and make decisions to do something better for yourself.

Find a quote or a phrase that really speaks to you. I checked out pinterest for some ideas. It can be something simple, related to fitness, health, a career, or a hobby.

Use that phrase to find out what your focus can be on 2015. Hopefully this will inspire you to try something different and change who you were in 2014. Either way, you don’t need to make a list of resolutions, especially if they are the same ones you make every year.

What quote or phrase are you focusing on for 2015?

Hungry for more,

The Midwest Marmot

Leave a Reply

